Incorporating the Mens & Womens Bowling Associations of the County of Northumberland

Jubilee Cup Final

Rothbury looked as though they would also be within a shout as they led Newbiggin by 4 shots only to concede 5 unanswered shots to lose (7-6). Going into the final session and a win for Newbiggin over Benfield would gaurantee the seasiders the trophy, however a 1 shot win for Benfield would put them above Newbiggin and within a chance of victory themselves if NSWE failed to win by a big margin.

With everything in the balance it was Newbiggin who made the better start and moved 5 shots clear, and although this was clawed back to only 2 shots, a count of 3 put them 5 up with only two ends to play. Despit losing both ends they only conceded 3 shots meaning they were crowned as the 2016 Champions. Rothbury defeated NSWE 11-5 to leave last years champions bottom of the pile.

1st - Newbigggin 6pts

2nd - Benfield 2pts (+4)

3rd - Rothbury 2pts (-2)

4th - NSWE 2pts (-8)



Smart Marketing Group